Click on the map or use the links below for more details about each region.


Fukuoka City

Fukuoka City Fukuoka City is the capital of Fukuoka Prefecture. While not as famous as Tokyo or even Nagasaki, Fukuoka City – or Fukuoka-shi (福岡市) – is the sixth-largest city in Japan and has been consistently rated among the top 10 cities in the world to live – and to shop! Fukuoka is home to …

View page »

Kitakyushu City

Kitakyushu is the second largest city in Fukuoka with a population of around 1 million, including a decent handful of JETs and ex-pats making up its international scene.  It’s composed of six cities; Kokura, Moji, Tobata, Wakamatsu, Yahata and Kurosaki.  We’ve grouped these into four main regions and provided information about each below. Aside from this web site, Kitakyushu …

View page »


Fukuoka Region – The most heavily populated region, in which Fukuoka city is located. The Fukuoka Region occupies the western coast of Fukuoka Prefecture.

View page »


Kitakyushu Region – The northernmost region of Fukuoka Prefecture, and in fact all of the Kyushu island. Also heavily populated. Honshu, Japan’s main island, can be seen across the narrow Kanmon Straight at the northern end of this region. Kitakyushu is also the name of the largest city within this region.

View page »


Chikugo Region – The southern region of the prefecture

View page »


Chikuho Region – The eastern region of the prefecture

View page »